Finn’s New Abode

It’s been a day or two since I put pen to paper (or whatever the digital equivalent is!), but for good reason. We’ve uplifted our lives and shifted them over the last few weeks. And yes, my Instagram account has suffered … but I’m committed to reaching 7K followers within the next 7 days. Lol. I can’t have my followers thinking I’ve checked out. 

It’s been an epic few weeks, moving from our family home into our school boarding house. Lisa is loving her new position as Assistant House Manager. It happens to be at the same school where I’m teaching drums – major bonus for my commute! I was wondering how Finn would handle the transition. The first week was rough, really rough. We had a trip to the after hours, 5 trips to the GP and a bazillion millilitres of babymeds. It was torturous and Finn was not his usual self. But this past week has been epic. He’s back to his usual cheeky self. 

Reflecting on the past few weeks has forced me to consider what impact this new life might have on Finn in his early years. I have to highlight that Lisa nor I have any blood-family here in New Zealand. We are so lucky to have a few amazing friends though, and they have adopted Finn as one of their own. But thinking about the boarding scenario … it’s awesome. I’m struggling to pinpoint any negatives. Finn is now surrounded by a huge amount of older brothers and sisters. His new living room is the Common Room and his new backyard is several acres of playing fields and sports grounds. He’s already made a few BFFs at the dining room. Dinner for Finn is one huge social occasion. His most favourite people are Aunty Alice, Didi and Molly. I blogged a few months back about the old one-liner “It takes a village to raise a child”. And I’m truly seeing the truth in that right now. These new people in Finn’s life are going to have a profound impact on his childhood. I’m so grateful that Finn gets this amazing opportunity. 

I have no doubt that there will be many hilarious stories to be told of Finn’s upbringing at the Boarding House. Stay posted!

James

Leave a Reply

