The Terrible Twos… a year too early!?

Who hasn’t heard of the “terrible twos”!? We’ve all heard of those tantrum-fuelled horror stories. Those supermarket moments where the little rascal lays down across the shopping aisle screaming bloody murder. I’ve even witnessed scenes like this unfolding and I’ve always thought that the parents need a wake up call and ought to learn to discipline their child. However, times have changed. I am now THAT parent being glared at by the mid-20s non-parent. Yup, role reversal is legit. 
For those of you who know me, you will know that I am merely twelve months into this parenting malarkey. A few months back I was told that Finn was “advanced”. It’s the old one-liner that every parent just loves to hear. But honestly, I think he is just downright outsmarting me. He is very switched on and knows exactly how to get what he wants. 
The Sky TV remote is like Finn’s little fix. It’s his mission to successfully pilfer the remote, and proceed to change the channel. If he notices that the TV channel has changed he will start scanning the room like a hungry Eagle spotting dinner, just so he can see who has his favourite toy. I often think I’m outsmarting him and try to change the channel then attempt to hide the remote under a pillow. But I swear he has eyes on the back of his head. Within 30 seconds he has tracked down his prey!
As of late, I have noticed Finn belting out his hideous scream. It’s frightfully unbearable. It’s usually when he’s munching on a cracker and he spots a Chicken Curry on my plate. Once he realises that I am on superior fodder it’s game over. Once he gets what he wants he instantly cuts out the screaming and seamlessly breaks into a little chuckle. 
How on earth do we sort this little rascal out? Honestly – it is so funny at times. But I don’t want to be that parent who constantly appeases their child. The last thing I wish for is a gaming-addicted, self righteous teenager. And I’m told 10 years goes by in a flash. 
If you have any genius parenting discipline tips for Hurricane Finn, please feel free to share!
James 
Modern Dad

Leave a Reply

