An about turn perhaps?

Processed with VSCO with f2 presetSo, if you’ve been a ModernDad follower you might just remember my blog on posting images of your children online. I have a pretty strong stance on it. To date – there have been no photos of my little son Finn posted online showing his face. However, I’m on the fence right now.

Yep, you heard me. I might have to eat my words. But, I’ll own it like a pro. Give me shit, wind me up – do whatever tickles your pickle. But I’m starting to see a different side of things. Now, just pump the breaks a bit Tonto, I’m not swinging right to the other side of the scale. I’m not contemplating being one of those parents who posts every moment in their child’s life. I’m just willing to consider posting the very odd photo of the Finnster at special occasions or when he’s with his sidekicks.

Here’s what has triggered my “about-turn”… Rewind 15 months – Lisa and I rocked up to our first antenatal baby class. And yes, it was awkward as hell for the first 20 minutes. We had to tell 30 other adults what made us gush about our partners. For those who know me, I didn’t struggle to show my soft and loving side (some of my mates might prefer to call it my feminine side – but they are just muppets) but it was hilarious to watch the macho males shrink back into their little mancaves. Anyways, I digress! The antenatal class has been the most amazing resource for us as it connected us with other great people who were going through the same thing as we were. We have made really great friendships and continue to spend time with the fellow parents.

This past weekend was the joint 1st birthday celebration for the entire group. We all converged, dressed in family colours and had a grand old time. Of course my little Finn was a little boisterous and caused havoc – but hey, who wants a boring child!? Haha. They ate relentlessly, smashed cupcakes, shat now and then, pee’d and tore around the house like little terrors. It was just awesome. There also happened to be a photographer present to ensure that we got a record of that special moment. I started to panic a little as I realised that I didn’t want any photos of Finn online. I then scanned the room, terrified! All the parents at one time or another snapped shots of their little cherubs running amok – and of course they are going to potentially want to post these photos online.

I said nothing at the time. But I went home thinking about the whole situation. I spoke to ModernMama (aka Lisa or AKA The Boss) about the whole thing and we both agreed that Finn might be left out of certain moments and special occasions if parents had to exclude them from their photos. The last thing we want is for our little ninja to be left out of things, or be missing from every antenatal birthday celebration photo.

So … long story short (actually I’m talking bullshit, as you and I both know I can never tell a short story!) … Lisa and I have decided to post a photo of the little guy at his Antenatal Party!

A pretty huge deal for us, and a moment where I’m most certainly backtracking!! I shall await the bombardment of “I told you, you wouldn’t keep it up!”. But hey, I have thick skin so fire away and be prepared for a rebuttal.

Cheers,

James

IG – the_moderndad

2 thoughts on “An about turn perhaps?

  1. I understand people not wanting to post photos of their children online, and part of me feels like I should be that way too. I’m just not. I refuse to be held back by fear that someone is going to steal those photos and turn them into something negative. Every time I leave the house with my child, there is a chance something bad will happen. Does that stop me? No! (OK well sometimes, I suffer from anxiety after all). Why should I let that same idea prevent me from sharing memories of the most important person in my life? All in moderation I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

