Modern Dad Vs Baby Gorilla

Silverback GorillaIt only took Finn eleven months to decide he was the Alpha male of the house. It was the single most hilarious moment of my week. I shit you not, he was deadset serious that he was the man of the house and not I! You may ask, what on earth was this all about? Well … it was over a cup of hot tea. Again, I shit you not.

Finn decided that he would toddle on over to his mum and try to grab her hot cup of tea. He was infuriated to discover that this was not a happening thing. The first “no” was met with a naughty look. The second “no” was met with a swift swipe of the hand. I must point out that the swiping was being done by Finn. He grabbed his mums hand and with all his might (believe you me, he’s bloody strong) he through it to the side to give him easier access to the tea.

At this point I had to step in. Yep, it was time for the silverback to let his baby Gorilla know that he was overstepping the mark and that he had to back down. But much to my surprise (and slightly to my delight), the little whippersnapper yelled at me. I tried with all my strength not to laugh, and then I gave him a loud “no”. At which point he flung both arms above him and proceeded to yell and flail at me. I gave it back to him, and Lisa was in wrinkles at this point.

In the end – Finn won. I just broke down in laughter. He was the Alpha male of the living room for the next 5 minutes. I’m seriously going to need to improve on this discipline thing. The last thing I want is a spolied brat.

Any tips are greatly welcomed.

James

(Former “Alphamale” of the Laughlin Family)

Leave a Reply

