A dad’s weekend – what a belter.

Baby's first stepsApril Fools Day – what a day to be a Dad. You all know by now, that on these special days just like St. Paddys day, that my life usually has some funny sh#t go down. Well today (I wrote it on April 1, but then life happened and I posted it a few days later) has not disappointed and we are only half way through the day.

The past few days have been tough with a terrible old flu, and a few days shacked up on the sofa with Lemsip and antibiotics – a sight for sore eyes I tell ya. And Lisa, the poor wee Saint. She was looking after both her boys. Administering Finn’s meds, my meds and running the household like an absolute legend. My wife is a GC. No doubt about it.

Aunty & Unky took Finn for a sleepover last night, which allowed Lisa to get some rest, and for me to get to bed at 7pm. Now today is a very special day for our family. It’s a very sad day, but also a day where we get to reflect on someone who meant a lot to us all, and who has shaped our lives so greatly.

Lisa’s little brother Arran passed away 15 years ago on April 1st, at the young age of eighteen. Arran was a top bloke, an amazing brother and one epic drummer. A world champion at 13 years old! Arran was the reason that Lisa and I met. Let’s face it, what are the chances of a boy from small-town Ireland meeting a beautiful girl from small-town Canada? Pretty darn slim. Arran and I crossed paths through our shared passion of pipe band drumming. After Arran passed away I wrote a letter to his family in Canada to share how much he had impacted my life, and inspired me as a 16-year old drummer in Ireland. Little did I know that several years later I would end up in Vancouver playing in the same band that he did, and meeting his amazing family. Lisa and I had a great friendship for many years that blossomed into something so amazing as the years ticked by. If I didn’t meet Arran, I wouldn’t have met Lisa and we wouldn’t have Finn. Now, Im not a big religious-based person. But I do believe that someone, somewhere is looking over us and that person/spirit/being, guides us in the right direction. Fate and karma are a big part of my day to day life. As a Dad, that is something I want to instill in Finn. If you do what you know is right, then it can only be a good thing. When we make mistakes, hopefully we can learn from them.

Not to confuse you all, but lets backtrack to yesterday. March 31st 2017. Something beautiful happened in our household. A little someone, took his very first footsteps. Yep, you heard it right. At 10 months my little whippersnapper decided he wanted to walk rather than crawl. It was a ridiculously awesome moment. I’ve heard so many parents go off about the day that their baby walked. And i’ve always thought that it must be pretty cool. But when it’s your own little lad who takes those first steps it’s a monumental moment. It’s a real milestone. It’s the beginning of Finn’s baby steps towards 1, then 2 then 21! It’s all happening so fast. I read a book a few years back by Eckhart Tolle – The Power of Now. The key aim of the book is to inspire the reader to enjoy the present moment, the current moment. And nothing else. Not the future, not the past. It’s bloody hard. We are always looking forward to the future. We can’t wait ‘till it’s Friday. We count down the days until we depart to Fiji. And we often reflect to the past. “It’s not like it was in my day” … that old chestnut! So my new plan is to just enjoy the simple day to day moments with Finn and Lisa. What happens right now, is all that’s actually real. Everything else is a mere figment of your imagination.

More breaking news. I know, I know. Settle down. You have all been waiting on this for a week or so now …

So – Im a routine Dad. I like to keep things in order. It helps with my baby-brain syndrome. I have certain routines each morning. Wake early, clean teeth, laugh with Finn, diaper change, brekky, diaper change, shower, get dressed, diaper change and off to ABC Merivale. Now part of my evening routines is taking my wedding ring off and setting it beside my tooth brush. It’s just what happens. I simply can’t sleep with jewellery. For five and a half years there hasn’t been a problem. That all changed on the day we left for Adele. I couldn’t find my ring. A week of hell ensued. I was wracking my brain, scouring the house. It was really gutting. My wedding ring is so much more than just gold, platinum and a diamond. It signifies the union between the love of my life and I. So, today… April 1st, I get drawn to this cute little ceramic trinket box. A lovely friend bought it for Finn when he was born. And guess what … there was my wedding ring perched safely in its clutches. I jumped for joy, I let out a few joyful profanities and I hugged Lisa for the longest moment. It was a moment. A moment I will never forget. And I learned a lesson. Don’t put my wedding ring anywhere different, ever. So it’s new place is in Finns trinket box. And let’s face it, someday Finn is going to have my wedding ring. That day, will hopefully be another 60 years away. But it seems fitting that it’s nestled safely in his little ceramic container each night.

Processed with VSCO with m5 presetMy mum and sister said to me this week. “James, don’t you remember what we used to tell you when you were a kid and lost things all the time? – Just say ‘Jesus was lost, and Jesus was found’.” I have to admit I rolled my eyes (as you already know my stance on religion) but secretly, I did say it a few times yesterday. Kirsten and Mum – thank you.

‘Till next time.

James

(just a very short P.S. – my darling wife Lisa, was the person who suggested I put the ring in the ceramic trinket box in the first place so I partly blame her …but I mean, like only 1% blame her, because if it was any higher then I would be getting myself microwave dinners for the next week!).

One thought on “A dad’s weekend – what a belter.

  1. I always lose things that I’ve put in a ‘safe place’ and it’s the most frustrating feeling! Glad you found it though. And what a lovely story about your brother-in-law, a story that will be passed down fie generations I’m sure 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

